So this Friday, I graduated. About 16 family members came
into town for it, which I am thankful for. Unfortunately, a snow storm was
rapidly approaching during the ceremony. By the time we went over to my
brother’s house and started eating lunch, it had started snowing. An hour
later, about 3 or so inches had fallen. We quickly ate lunch, cut and ate the
cake, and packed up…thinking that we’d be able to leave. After all that was
done, it was about 2 hours after the snow had started and there was an
accumulation of about 5 or 6! Half of us, including me and my mom, did not
think it was a good idea to leave. Unfortunately, I have some family members
that were adamant on leaving that afternoon, so after a family meeting we
decided we would all leave. We got on the road at 6pm.
BAD IDEA. Half the family was heading south on I-81 to
Nashville and the other half was going North to Northern Virginia. Those who made it onto 81 only went as far as
about 10 miles in 3 hours before getting STUCK, because of traffic and terrible
weather conditions. Three of them going to Northern VA (including my
grandmother) got stuck at a gas station 10 miles from the VT exit and had to
spend the night there. Another car (with 5 people including a 10 month old
baby) got on 81, too, but were not able to move at ALL after several hours…so
they just spent the night in their car. A van carrying 8 people (including 4
kids) were going south and weren’t able to go further than probably 20 miles
also ended up spending the night in their vehicle. As for me and Semeon (we
also had our aunt and her mom in the car), it took us an hour to get to
Christiansburg. We stopped to take ice off of our windshield wipers and it
basically crumbled in our hands. Lucky for my parents, who were ahead of us,
hadn’t gotten on 81 yet, so we called them and told them our problem and they
turned around and came to us. Otherwise,
they would have kept on going and gotten stuck on the road, too. So 7 of us ended up coming back to Semeon’s
place for the night. I felt so bad for the rest of the family that had to sleep
in their cars. Luckily, everyone was able to get back on the road and get back
home eventually. It took the ones going to Nashville a total of 24 hours from
the time they started at Blacksburg (6pm).
The ones going to NoVa, took about 20 hours. Thankfully, everyone was
safe, healthy and back at home. Phew.
As much as I really enjoyed being snowed in with the family
for a couple days, it was now time for me to go home. Me, my bro, and my
parents made it back home last night at 8pm. It took us the normal amount of
time of about 6 hours to get in. Once we hit the Tennessee border, there was
barely any snow, and then about 30 miles in, there was not a drop of snow! I
kinda started to miss it…but not really. Lol This morning I woke up and opened
all the windows in the house and it was so bright, sunny and clear outside!
Although, I would’ve liked it to be warm, I like that it was still cold seeing
as we’re not gonna have a white Christmas here.
Last night, I slept well, woke up this morning well-rested
and worry-free, worked out, ate a yummy breakfast, and an even yummier lunch of
Ethiopian food, which I ate way too much of. I’ve been trying to get back to my
normal eating/workout habits, especially after we were cooped up in the house
for the weekend eating ALL carbs basically. Lol But all that gets thrown out of
the window when there’s Ethiopian food in front of me. Plus, it’s the holiday
season, so I know I’ll be eating lots of yummy food. I’ll just keep my workouts
goin! Hehe
Overall, this was one weekend I’d never forget. Here are a
couple pics from this weekend’s snow storm in Blacksburg:
We got ~15in. of snow, but you can't tell by the spot we're standing at.
Amazing...especially in person.

No comments:
Post a Comment